My Journey to IIM Indore

 

My journey to IIM Indore had started much before I had any expectation of being a part of any of the IIMs in 2016. It started with my preparation for CAT 2015 in my third year of B.Tech at NIT, Rourkela. Preparing for CAT along with managing the curriculum at NIT proved to be a challenge for me. Every weekend I attended coaching classes. I couldn’t practice much and it showed in my performance. But I never quit. So I kept going despite my embarrassing performance. After every class I went over the questions given that day and solved each one. The embarrassment motivated me. I didn’t want to miss even a single opportunity to study for CAT so I had even carried all my books to Bangalore where I did an internship. It was late July when I came back. The coaching classes had become very irregular and weren’t helping much so I left going there. Then came the results of National Creativity Aptitude Test (I had taken it some time ago) and I was ranked 31st. That was the moment when I realised that I could get what I wanted; it just needed a bit of extra work. I started preparing on my own. I practiced through online tests and TIME’s study material. I analysed my score after each test, marked the sections in which I scored well and those which needed improvement. I practiced accordingly and then went on to further tests. Giving so many tests got me well acquainted with the pattern of CAT. By November I had planned my approach towards each section of the test. I have never been as calm before any test as I was on the day of CAT 2015.

The results were early. I got a text on my cell with my percentile. I was heavily surprised and took it to be spam. But when I came to know that it was true, I was beside myself. Soon I started preparing for WAT and PI. This is where the coaching centre came to help. I participated enthusiastically in all the WAT-PI sessions. These helped a lot.  On the day of the interview even though I was freaked out I managed well.

When the results of IIM Indore came out, and I got selected, I was more content than happy because my hard work had paid off. When I had started preparation, I didn’t know how it was going to end. But at the end I realised that in the process, I hadn’t neglected my regular courses. I had got good jobs too which were backups in case CAT result hadn’t been good. And the best thing was I was going to be a student of IIM Indore! The entire process to get into a premier B-school in India requires strategic preparation and a lot of introspection. It’s an enriching experience of rediscovering yourself.

I expect IIM Indore to be a place where I would want to spend as much time as I can. I am looking forward to make a wide network of friends. I want to be a part of every activity that happens there. I want to enjoy its scenic and infrastructural beauty. I want to learn everything that’s possible to learn from the myriad experiences there. I want to be a better and more mature person who would be able to manage her life and profession equally well. I hope IIM Indore will turn out to be much more than I expect.

 

– Akankshya Sahu, PGP 1 Student

 

Leave a Reply

